Leaders Convene This Week to Select Innovative Ideas for Educational Impact

October 1, 2018 Leaders from across the country convene this week in Denver, Colorado to select proposals for advancement as part of the Pathway 2 Tomorrow: Local Visions for America’s Future (P2T) Call for Proposals. The review panels consist of cross-professional leaders including educators, advocates, elected officials, and education chiefs of both K-12 and higher education systems.

“P2T has brought together some of the brightest minds to evaluate promising solutions,” said Hanna Skandera, former Secretary of Education for the State of New Mexico and founder of P2T. “The reviewers will determine the potential for truly innovative and gamechanging ideas in education to impact states and local communities.”

Proposals advanced by the review teams will receive a $15,000 stipend to refine the idea for maximum impact. Selected proposals will also be considered for the $100,000 Innovation Award. More information about Pathway 2 Tomorrow: Local Visions for America’s Future can be found at www.p2tomorrow.org.

Review Panel Participants:

  • Jeremy Anderson – President, Education Commission of the States
  • Bridget Burns – Executive Director, University Innovation Alliance
  • Christopher Cerf – former Superintendent, Newark Public Schools & former Commissioner, New Jersey Department of Education
  • Whitney Chapa – Director of Strategic Initiatives, Arizona Board of Regents
  • Justin Cohen – Chief Operating Officer, Wayfinder Foundation
  • Soncia Coleman – Director of Public Policy & Advocacy, United Way Worldwide
  • Michael CrowPresident, Arizona State University
  • James Cryan – Founder and CEO, Rocky Mountain Prep
  • Carol D’Amico – Executive Vice President, Strada Education Network
  • Barbara Damron – Cabinet Secretary, New Mexico Higher Education Department
  • Cristina DeJesus – President and CEO, Green Dot Public Schools California
  • Scott Ellsworth – Principal and Owner, Scott Ellsworth Consulting
  • Dale Erquiaga – President & CEO, Communities in Schools and former State Superintendent, Nevada Department of Public Instruction
  • Alison Griffin – Senior Vice President, Whiteboard Advisors
  • Lisa-Marie Haygood, National Parent Teacher Association
  • Lindsay Jones – Vice President, National Center for Learning Disabilities
  • Holly Kuzmich – Executive Director, George W. Bush Institute
  • Pedro Martinez – Superintendent, San Antonio Independent School District
  • Peggy McLeod – Vice President, UnidosUS
  • Toney McNair – 2017 Teacher of the Year, State of Virginia
  • Maria Moser – Senior Director of Teaching and Learning, UnidosUS
  • Kira Orange Jones — Member, Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education & Senior Vice President, Teach For America
  • Madeline Pumariega – Chancellor, Florida College System
  • Deborah Quazzo – Managing Partner, GSV Acceleration
  • Elizabeth Rorick – Deputy Executive Director, National Parent Teacher Association
  • Jessica Solano – 2017 Teacher of the Year, State of Florida
  • Leslie Villegas – Associate Policy Analyst, Migration Policy Institute
  • Ben Wallerstein – CEO and Co-Founder, Whiteboard Advisors
  • Rebecca Watts – Chancellor, Western Governors University
  • Martin West – Member, Massachusetts Board of Elementary and Secondary Education & Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • John White — State Superintendent of Education, Louisiana Department of Education
  • Jamie Woodson – Executive Director, Tennessee SCORE
  • Carey Wright – State Superintendent of Education, Mississippi Department of Education

Link to PDF